Un corps

SHARE ON

Yesterday I was busy all day with my phone calls and meetings. Just managed to be free at six in order to reply to my emails. At eight I grabbed something to eat and contacted Ani for our daily Skype meeting: We spoke.
one-body-diasporarm-article-hovel-chenorhokian-the-diaspora

Lettre ouverte

Cher Hagop,

Il est quatre heures. Du matin.

Je suis allé me coucher à une heure.

Je croule sous le travail.

Hier, j’ai passé toute la journée en réunion ou en conversation au téléphone. Ce n’est qu’à six heures que j’ai pu commencer à répondre à mes courriels. A huit heures, j’ai mangé sur le pouce et ai appelé Ani, pour notre réunion quotidienne sur Skype. Nous avons discuté. De quel client avions nous reçu quelle commande, avec quel pays avions nous rencontré des soucis, la France, l’Espagne, les Etats-Unis, l’Allemagne, le travail des garçons avançait-il ? Yervand travaille sur Photoshop, c’est un artiste. Shiraz répond aux clients d’Amazon, avec courtoisie, à chacun d’entre eux dans sa langue. David s’occupe du site web ainsi que de la base de données, avec rigueur. Siranoush et Anna aident volontiers là où le besoin s’en ressent. Je suis satisfait de tous. Ils sont tous compétents. Mais plus important, ce sont des gens bien.

Il est déjà dix heures. A l’horloge d’Ani à Etchmiadzine, il est minuit. « Baron Hovel, ma pile est à plat, mon cerveau marche au ralenti. Pouvons-nous continuer demain matin ? ». A ce moment, j’entends une sonnerie de mon téléphone signalant un message, sans regarder mon téléphone, je réponds à Ani « Bien sûr. », tous deux sachant pertinemment que « demain matin » nous commencerons la même course effrénée, et que notre rencontre sera repoussée à huit heures du soir, si ce n’est neuf heures, voire jamais par manque de temps pour la pauvre Ani.

Ainsi, moi à Paris, eux en Arménie, l’un à Erevan, l’une à Etchmiadzine, un encore à Gumri, les autres je ne sais où, nous travaillons et continuons à avancer. Aujourd’hui, ceux qui n’ont pas assimilé les nouveaux moyens de communications, le monde numérique et la globalisation d’un marché de plus en plus compétitif, fussent-ils épicier à Alfortville ou joailler à Bourj Hammoud, ont déjà perdu la bataille de l’emploi et plus généralement celle de la vie..

Ani est la lumière de mes yeux. C’est mon cousin, Harout, M. Nercessian de l’AMAA qui nous a présenté, disant « Je ne sais pas ce qu’elle vaut d’un point de vue professionnel, mais c’est une bonne personne ». Ani est une bonne personne, humble, gentille, noble, dévouée et droite. Elle est également capable, d’un jugement sûr, studieuse, fiable, parle l’espagnol, le russe. C’est elle qui corrige mes lettres en anglais. Qui hier vilipendait les Hayasdantsi ? D’accord. Le cousin du voisin de quelqu’un avait fait des importations peu judicieuses, avait monté une affaire bancale, sans étudier le marché, s’était lancé dans le commerce sans prendre des précautions élémentaires. Ça suffit. Soyez justes. Ayez un peu d’intégrité intellectuelle. Même si… Il est injuste de condamner tout un peuple à cause de quelques voyous, que ces derniers soient issus de hauts postes où bien soient de simples citoyens. Bien que le nombre de ces voyous était élevé à un certain moment.

                                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Il est quatre heures. Du matin.

Je suis allé me coucher à une heure.

Les nouvelles de ces derniers jours …

La conversation d’hier soir…

Je ne trouve pas le sommeil. Le Catholicos a organisé une conférence , dont le sujet me préoccupe énormément « Les défis et dangers face à l’identité d’un Arménien de Diaspora ». Le Catholicos a invité plus de trente intellectuels pour étudier le sujet. Avant la fin de ma réunion avec Ani, j’ai reçu un court message sur mon téléphone d’un des participants à cette réunion « Bonjour, Hovel, à l’occasion, discutons. » J’ai appelé, nous avons discuté. Il m’a donné quelques renseignements. « La réunion se déroule très bien, parfois le débat s’échauffe. »

Il me vient à l’esprit une conversation d’Erevan. « Votre arménien occidental n’a pas la richesse de vocabulaire de notre arménien oriental ». Le sang m’est monté à la tête, j’ai failli répondre, que si l’on retirait de « votre » langue le petroushka et le pomidor, ou encore l’egran et le babga, vous alliez avoir un sérieux souci pour communiquer. D’abord « vous » devriez apprendre le ayp, pen, kim en lieu du a, beu, gueuh, et ensuite, toute considération d’orthographe mise de côté, vous devriez utiliser l’alphabet Mesrobien plutôt que ces barbares lettres latines dans vos courriels. Ils expliquent qu’ils n’ont pas cette possibilité. Ce qu’ils peuvent est écrire le « ե » en « e », le « խ » ou « ղ » en « x », le « ը » en @. Par exemple : « neroxutyn em x@ndrum vor anhang@stacnum em Dzez. bayc ayl elq chunem». Essaie d’y comprendre quelque chose si tu y arrives.

Bien entendu, je n’ai rien dit. Cet homme avait en partie raison. Dans certains établissements de formations professionnelles, ou dans les filières scientifiques, ils ont créé de nouveaux mots relatifs aux technologies récentes, que l’arménien occidental n’a pas encore inventé, ou plus précisément, n’a pas encore admis ce que la mère patrie a inventé. Ils appellent l’@ un chiot (shnig). Quelle jolie image. Comme s’ils avaient mis la laisse de @ autour du cou du chiot. Même si le mot est dérivé du mot russe, pourquoi ne devrions-nous même pas utiliser le mot shnig en place de @ (at). Plus important, nous devons insister sur la richesse de la prononciation, la différente entre « թ » et « դ », « գ » et « ք ».

Vram, négociant respecté de diamant, m’appelle d’Erevan. Vram était auparavant historien, enseignant au collège l’Institut Philanthropique(Martasiragan Djemaran) de Calcutta, et avait soudainement dégringolé au niveau d’un marchand. De sa « vie passée », il a gardé une âme d’intellectuel et un noble esprit ; au cours de notre dernière rencontre à

l’Exposition des Joailliers à Hong-Kong, il s’était absenté en pleine journée, laissant derrière lui son stand, pour aller fleurir la tombe de Lord Paul Khachig Chater. Le soir, durant le diner, il nous exposa les difficultés qu’il avait eues à trouver la tombe de ce bienfaiteur, et ému, nous raconta dans quel délabrement il avait trouvé cette pierre tombale, à l’abandon, sur laquelle on ne pouvait même plus lire le nom de l’homme. Le lendemain il partit muni de chiffons, brosses, peintures et pinceaux et, avec l’aide de deux personnes, remit la pierre tombale sur pied et en repeignit les lettres. Y-a-t-il des gens comme lui ? Il y en a, et encore plus en Arménie.

Lord Paul Khachig Chater, né en 1846, est connu comme un des architectes de la création du « joyaux » de l’empire britannique et comme « le prince de Hong-Kong ». Orphelin à huit ans et parti de rien jusqu’à être à la tête d’un empire industriel, ses œuvres de bienfaisance tiennent debout encore aujourd’hui dans son Calcutta natal, où siègent l’église arménienne de Saint Nazareth ainsi que le collège arménien.

Au-delà de de la ville de D’Etchmiadzine, Lord Chater a également œuvré pour l’école La Martinière qu’il a fréquentée, où aujourd’hui encore les élèves commencent leur journée par un hymne ; un hymne adressé à l’entrepreneur oublié dans sa propre patrie et qui commence par la ligne suivante « Nous te remercions, Paul Chater, notre bienfaiteur… ». Et nous ? Sommes-nous des gardiens responsables des tombes de nos aïeux dans des villes laissées derrières nous ? Et évaluons-nous le spirituel au-delà du matériel ?

Où en étais-je ? Ah oui, Vram a appelé et me dit « J’ai lu ton dernier article, j’ai aimé la beauté et la finesse de l’arménien occidental, j’ai apprécié la délicatesse des mots ».

Il existe encore des gens comme lui. Il y en a encore plus en Arménie.

˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜

Je ne trouve pas le sommeil.

J’ouvre mon ordinateur.

Je regarde votre photo de groupe.

Ça fait longtemps que nous ne sommes pas vus. Au premier rang, premier en partant de la gauche, fermement campé sur tes jambes, tu n’as pas changé. Au deuxième rang je remarque ce cher Antranig, souriant. « Atchin Vartan@, Tsakhin Iskhan@ », entouré ainsi de si bonnes personnes, pourquoi ne sourirait-il pas ? Je remarque mon cher Shahan, du journal« Aztag ».Je ne vois pas Sevag, il doit surement être en déplacement. Je n’ai pas rencontré Mme Yepremian du journal« Ararad ». Est-elle parmi ces gens ?

Je me demande pourquoi vous ne vous êtes pas réunis à Antelias ? Ah oui, Bikfaya est la résidence d’été de Catholicosat, il doit faire bon là-bas en cette saison. Mais tellement loin du peuple et des nouveaux centres de gravité de la Diaspora, Moscou, Los Angeles, Paris ; je me demande si la Main Droite de Saint Gregoire l’Illuminateur, qui a migré depuis le quatrième siècle de Tvin, à Ani, à Van, à Sis, finalement à Antelias en passant par d’autres villes, si la Main Droite de Saint Gregoire l’Illuminateur et son Trône devraient encore emménager pour être plus près du peuple.

Non, ce n’est pas important. Avec les moyens de communication actuels, l’informatisation, la globalisation, le lieu n’a pas d’importance. Il est plus important de comprendre la pan-Diaspora et de voir le monde via les perspectives des différentes communautés de la Diaspora. Appréhender chacune de ces perspectives, en prenant en compte les particularités linguistiques, géographiques, conceptuelles et générationnelles de tous. Dans votre photo de sages, au fond, saute aux yeux deux ravissantes jeunes filles qui font partie de la minorité des trois ou quatre personnes du groupe de moins de cinquante ans.

« Asdvadz oknagan, votre Sainteté, Je salue l’initiative de la Grande Maison de Cilicie d’avoir organiser cette réunion. Je vous félicite et vous remercie d’avoir réuni tant d’illustres personnes autour de vous. Que Dieu fasse pousser et prospérer cette graine que vous avez plantée. Je prie pour que votre inquiétude légitime dépasse l’horizon de l’Orient et arrive jusque nous, que votre blanc manteau se répande jusqu’aux rives d’Occident. Sur les rives d’Occident nous avons nous aussi de brillants jeunes gens, qui se comptent sur les doigts d’une main, comme le Kraparapan Shahan Vidal,le journaliste Tigran Yevagian, le très talentueux Vahan Kerovpian,des jeunes qui peuvent ouvrir de nouvelles fenêtres.

Que les honorables défenseurs de la cause du peuple assemblés autour de vous voient la lumière qui entrent de ces fenêtres, et s’en inspirent. Qu’au-delà d’examiner les problèmes, nous voyons ces vibrants exemples de la défense de la cause arménienne, les solutions efficaces, et les appliquons. Vite, le temps presse. Nous fondons telle de la neige au soleil. »

Chers participants de la réunion de Bikfaya, je suis tout comme vous inquiet à propos du peuple arménien, de son avenir. Il faut prendre le train du progrès des communications et des connaissances. Comprendre ce qu’est l’intelligence artificielle. Faire progresser nos moyens de communications, faire évoluer les contenus arméniens sur Wikipédia et YouTube, élaborer les programmes d’éducation des MOOC, sinon comment voulez-vous que nous atteignions 98% des Arméniens occidentaux, pour lesquels l’école arménienne n’est pas accessible.

Mes inquiétudes sont sans fins. Il existe de nouvelles et petites communautés à Nantes, à Rotterdam, à, Barcelone. Il y a à Krasnodar50 000 Arméniens, qui n’ont accès à aucune école ou église arménienne, où les Arméniens baptisent leurs nouveaux nés à l’église « sœur » Orthodoxe de Russie.

« Votre Sainteté Catholicos de tous les Arméniens, Asdvadz oknagan,

Je vous prie, recommandez aux membres de votre paroisse de patienter jusqu’aux vacances d’été, et leurs prochaines vacances à la mère patrie, pour faire baptiser leurs enfants dans la Sainte Eglise arménienne.

Je vous prie, expliquez aux membres de votre paroisse, expliquez-leur précisément, laquelle de l’église orthodoxe russe ou des églises « filles » arméniennes est la nôtre, la harazad.

Je vous prie de les mettre en garde, que les hommes des églises catholiques et évangéliques arméniennes sont les nôtres plus que ceux d’une église étrangère, iconoclaste, brulant de l’encens, qui avec leurs barbes et leurs soutanes peuvent paraître plus familiers, qui cependant enlèvent nos enfants, ceux de votre paroisse, à l’aide du sceau du baptême étranger.

Catholicos de tous les Arméniens, que les sages conseils, vos bénédictions paternelles et votre amour chrétien descendent sur tous les arméniens, et se répandent au-delà, mais comme l’apôtre écrit « d’abord sur vos compatriotes, et ensuite sur les étrangers ».

Mon cher, de nos jours, tout ce qui est moderne est précieux.

L’appareil photo et l’ordinateur,

Les meubles et les vêtements

La façon de penser et de se comporter

Les valeurs et l’éthique

Nous plions l’ancien et le rangeons,

Du placard, au grenier, à la poubelle

Nous jetons l’ancien et le brûlons

Nous brûlons, le vert et le sec mélangé

Nous jetons les meubles anciens et gardons ceux d’IKEA

Nous jetons le crayon et le papier et gardons le clavier

Nous jetons la cuisine mais gardons les fast-foods

Nous jetons les relations mais gardons les SMS

Nous jetons les valeurs familiales mais gardons le libertinage

Nous jetons le classique mais gardons le moderne

Mon cher, de nos jours, tout ce qui est moderne est précieux.

Aux délégués de Bikfaya, j’avais un sujet que je souhaitais mettre sur votre table. En tant que peuple, allons-nous avoir une langue à deux branches mais une orthographe ?

Qui décidera ? Ne serait-il pas juste que l’écriture classique, historique, fondatrice, Mesropienne, soit la seule ? Les Juifs (encore eux ?), ont pris la décision courageuse et déterminée au début du siècle dernier de remplacer leur langue moderne, le Yiddish, par l’Hébreu classique. Ils ont ressuscité une langue morte.

Aujourd’hui, la standardisation d’une orthographe unique a une importance stratégique. Au-delà des considérations esthétique ou linguistique, la protection et la sauvegarde de l’arménien occidental sont un enjeu primordial et stratégique.

Qui décidera ? Des hommes politiques ou bien des intellectuels visionnaires tels que vous ?

Je vous prie d’arriver à une conclusion avant la prochaine réunion.

Pères spiritueux, grands prêtres, qui d’autres que vous deux peut être habilité à prendre une telle décision ? Si une des deux branches de notre arbre venait à, n’en déplaise à Dieu, sécher, l’autre branche serait en danger, si ce n’est l’arbre lui-même.


« La réunion se déroule très bien, parfois le débat s’échauffe. »

 Mes chers frères, participants de Bikfaya et estimés absents de cette réunion, je vous prie de vous unir en un corps.

« Car, comme nous avons plusieurs membres dans un seul corps, et que tous les membres n'ont pas la même fonction, et nous sommes tous membres les uns des autres » *.  

L’Hayasdantsi et celui de la diaspora,

L’occidental et l’oriental,

L’église d’Etchmiadzine et l’église d’Antelias

Les membres du Tashnag, de Ramgavar ou de Henchag

L’église Evangélique, Catholique et Apostolique

Ceux de Polis, du Liban et d’Iran

Et encore les démocrates, les républicains, les pro-atlantistes et les pro-Poutinistes.

 « Je vous exhorte donc, frères, par les compassions de Dieu, ne soyez pas sages à vos propres yeux mais soyez pleins d'affection les uns pour les autres ; quant à l'honneur, étant les premiers à le rendre aux autres ; ayant, les uns envers les autres, un même sentiment ; ne rendant à personne mal pour mal ; vous proposant ce qui est honnête devant tous les hommes. » *

Je souhaite que l’étincelle allumée par le Catholicos se répande et illumine les confins du monde.

Je souhaite aux délégués de Bikfaya "autant de foi qu’un grain de moutarde"**, qu’ils puisent bouger les montagnes.

Tout ceci comme un seul corps, armé d’un excellent amour, qui est la première de valeurs spirituelles.

* 1 Corinthiens 12, Romains 12

** Luke 17:6

SHARE ON

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Laisser une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FR

One Body

SHARE ON

Yesterday I was busy all day with my phone calls and meetings. Just managed to be free at six in order to reply to my emails. At eight I grabbed something to eat and contacted Ani for our daily Skype meeting: We spoke.
one-body-diasporarm-article-hovel-chenorhokian-the-diaspora

An open letter

Dear Hagop,

It’s four o’clock. That is am.

I went to bed past 1.

I am buried in my tasks.

Yesterday I was busy all day with my phone calls and meetings. Just managed to be free at six in order to reply to my emails. At eight I grabbed something to eat and contacted Ani for our daily Skype meeting: We spoke. We spoke about customers, who had ordered what. Which country had a problem, France, Spain, USA, Germany? Are the jobs  with the boys moving ahead? Yervant is working on Photoshop, he is an artist. Shiraz is answering the customers on Amazon, one by one, with most politeness, in their own languages. David is working on the website and the database, with strict discipline. Siranoush and Anna always help with pleasure whenever is needed. I am content with all of them. All are competent. Most importantly, they are good people.

It’s ten o’clock already. In Echmiadzin, Ani’s home town, it’s midnight. “Baron Hovel, my batteries are running down. My brain is slowing up; can we continue tomorrow morning?” Just at that moment I receive a message on my phone. Without checking my message I say “of course” to Ani, but we both know that “tomorrow morning” we will start the same mad run of another day and our meeting will be delayed again at eight, nine, and that, if poor Ani’s turn comes.

This way I in Paris, they in Armenia, one in Yerevan, the other in Echmiadzin, the other in Gyumri, and the others elsewhere, but we work and get on with the job. Nowadays, those who have not adaped themselves to the competitive market situation with the use of modern communication means, the digital world, the globalisation, have already lost the battle of careers and of life in general: be it the grocer in Alfortville or the diamond setter in Bourj Hammoud.

Ani is the light of my eyes. My cousin Harout, Mr. Nersessian of the AMAA put us in contact with each other, saying “I am not sure about her abilities at work, but definitely she is a good person”. Ani is a good person, humble, kind, noble, dedicated and virtuous. She’s also capable, has a good judgement and is reliable. Ani is fluent in Spanish, Russian and she is the one who edits my English letters… Who was yesterday defaming the Haysdantsis? Ok. Somebody’s neighbour’s nephew has invested wrongly, has dived into business without studying the market, without taking precautions. Enough! Be fair, have a little bit of intellectual integrity. Even if… It’s wrong to put down a whole people because of a few hooligans, be them high ranking officials or common citizen; despite the fact that the number of those hooligans was numerous at one time.

                                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s four o’clock. That is a.m.

I went to bed past 1 a.m.

The news from the last two days,

Last night’s conversation…

I cannot fall asleep. Catholicos Karekin II has organised a conference on a subject that worries me very much: “The challenges and the dangers facing the identity of the Armenian in Diaspora”. The catholicos has invited more than thirty intellectuals to discuss the topic. Before finishing my discussion with Ani, I had received a phone message from one of the conference delegates, saying “Hello Hovel, let’s speak when convenient”. I called and we spoke. He said “the meeting is progressing very well, sometimes with hot discussions”.

I just recalled a discussion I had in Yerevan where a local said, “your Western Armenian vocabulary is not as rich as Eastern Armenian”. I was going to lose my temper and say, “if we remove from your Eastern language ‘petrushka’ and ‘gazar’, ‘ekran’ and ‘papka’, you will have serious communication problems. To start with, “they” (Eastern Armenians) should learn to say ‘Ayp, Pen, Kim (Այբ, Բեն, Գիմ)’, instead of A, Buh, Guh, and then (let’s put aside the spelling), let them use the Mesrobian alphabet instead of the barbarian Latin letters. They justify themselves saying they do not have that facility. For them, the Armenian «ե» is E, «խ» or «ղ» is X, the «ը» is @. Here is an example, «neroxutyn em x@ndrum vor anhang@stacnum em Dzez, bayc ayl elq chunem». Let’s see if you can sort that out.

Of course I did not say anything. The man had a point, sort of. In some professional courses and in technological terms they have new words in Eastern Armenian that the Western Armenian language has not coined yet or has not accepted what the motherland has processed. They say “shnig” instead of @. What a picture! As if the leash is wrapped around the dog’s neck like this @. Even if the word “shnig” is derived from Russian word «собачка» (a little dog), why shouldn’t we be able to use “Shnig” for the “at”? More importantly, we should re-develop the pronunciations for the Gim and Keh (Գիմի եւ Քէի), Da and To (Դայի եւ Թոյի) differences.

Vram, the well-respected diamond merchant, calls me from Yerevan. He was a historian and taught at the Armenian College and Philanthropic Academy of Kolkata. Somehow, suddenly, he has slipped to the level of trader. Yet from his “previous life” he has kept the views of an intellectual and that of the noble spirit.

During our last meeting in Hong Kong Jewellers’ Exhibition he left his post and went to Lord Paul Chater’s tomb to put flowers. In the evening, during dinner, he told us about the great difficulties he had to find the grave of the great Armenian philanthropist. He said the grave was neglected and run down, and that you could not read his name on the gravestone. The following morning he took a piece of cloth, soap, brush, paint and painting brush, and two helpers to clean and repaint Chater’s name on the gravestone. So are there such people around? There are and even more in Hayasdan.

Lord Paul Khachik Chater (Asdvadzadurian, born in 1846) is the principal architect-instigator of the “gem” of the British throne–Hong Kong. Orphaned at eight, he took his enterprize from zero to a giant empire. Lord Chater established great charities, thanks to which Kolkata’s St. Nazareth Armenian Church and the Philanthropic Academy still stand in his birthplace.

Apart from supporting Calcutta and Mother See of Holy Echmiadzin, Lord Chater made a great contribution to the French La Martinier schools that he attended. Children at the schools precede their daily morning prayer with an anthem which begin with the following line of reverence for the philanthropist who is forgotten in his homeland: “Thank you Paul Chater, our philanthropist…!”

And we? Are we the masters of the tombs left behind? Do we value the spiritual and contact our ancestors above the material?

Where was I? Oh, yes, Vram rang me and said, “I read your last article, enjoyed the beauty of your Western Armenian, and appreciated the delicate terminologies.” So are there such people around? There are even more like him in Hayasdan.

˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜ ˜

Cannot fall sleep.

I start up my Computer.

I look at your group photo.

It’s been a while since our last meeting. I see you first from left: you have not changed. On the second row I notice our priceless Antranig, smiling. “Vartan on my right and Ishkhan on my left,” he says. Surrounded by such two good people, doesn’t he have all the reason to smile? I notice my dear friend Shahan, the editor of ‘Aztag’. I don’t see Sevag; most likely he is away. I have not met Mrs. Yeramian of ‘Ararad’ (daily newspaper). I don’t know whether she is present.

I was wondering: why have you not met in Antelias? Yes, Bikfaya is the summer residence of the catholicosate. The weather must be pleasant there now. But far from the new gravitational centres of the nation’s Diaspora (Moscow, Los Angeles, Paris, etc.), I was thinking whether the right hand (the “Ach”) and the throne of St. Krikor Lousavorich, which have moved from Dvin to Ani, to Van, to Sis, to Antelias since the 4th century, should move again and eventually settle nearer to the people!

No, it’s not important. Nowadays with modern communication, the digitalisation, and globalisation, the location is not important. The important thing is to have the pan-Diaspora understanding, and see the world from the perspectives of the different Diaspora communities, considering the different geographical, linguistic, conceptual and generational particularities. From your photo of the wise men I notice way at the back of the photo two good-looking young ladies—they’re among the three or four persons under fifty.

“Asdvadz oknagan, Your Eminence. I salute the initiative of the Holy See of Cilicia at this meeting. I salute and thank you for managing to gather so many meritorious people around you. May God prosper this seed that you have planted. Please spread your loving concern beyond the horizons of the East and reach us; let the flap of your frock stretch to the West’s stormy coasts. On our Western coasts we also have brilliant young men, like Grabar specialist Shahan Vidal, journalist Dikran Yegavian and the multi-talented Vahan Kerovpian–young people who can open new windows.

Let the distinguished people gathered around you see the ray of sunshine penetrating through the window–see and be encouraged. Let us see successful examples of the preservation of the Armenian identity and let’s spread the word. We do not have much time. Let’s get to work. We are melting like snow under the sun.

Delegates of the Bikfaya meeting, I am concerned in our nation’s future. We need to keep pace with advancements in science and communication, understand artificial inteligence, popularize the use of modern media, develop Armenian subjects in Wikipedia and YouTube, create massive open online courses and spread them wide. Otherwise, how can we reach out to the 98 percent of the West’s teenagers, for whom the Armenian schools are not accessible?

My concerns are endless. There are the new and small communities of Nantes, Rotterdam, Barcelona, and Krasnodar. There are 50,000 Armenians in Krasnodar, a city where there is no Armenian church, nor an Armenian school and where Armenians are baptising their newborn in the “sister” Russian Orthodox Church.

“Asdvadz oknagan, Your Eminence Catholicos of All Armenians,

I beg you to tell your flock to schedule the baptisms of their children during the family’s summer holiday in the motherland and have it in the Apostolic Armenian Church.

I beg you to explain to your flock which of the Russian Orthodox “sister” church or the Armenian twin daughter Churches is dear (“harazad”) to us.

I beg that you inform your flock that the Armenian Catholic and Evangelical clergymen are of our flesh, unlike the clergymen in the sister Russian Church, who with his beard and frock might look familiar, but unwillingly takes away with sharp teeth our lambs, using a foreign baptismal seal.

Holy Father, let your wise advice, your fatherly blessings and Christian love spread onto all Armenians and beyond. As the Apostle wrote, “first to my people, then to the foreigner”.

“My Dear, nowadays everything modern is valued”.  *

The camera and the computer,

The kitchen ware and clothes,

The way of thinking and behaviour,

Values and ethics.

We fold the old ones and store them,

From the wardrobe to the loft, from the loft to the bin,

We get rid of the old goods, throw them away, burn them,

We throw them, and burn them, the green with the dry ones.

We throw away old furniture; we keep Ikea goods,

We throw away paper and pen, but keep the keyboard,

We throw away the kitchen but keep the fast food,

We throw away relationships, but keep text messages,

We throw away the family sacred values, but keep the debauchery,

We throw away the classical, the beautiful, but keep the modern.

My Dear, nowadays everything modern is valued.

Delegates of the Bikfaya meeting, I would like to propose a subject on your agenda. As a nation, are we going to have a twin-branched language with a single orthography? Who will decide? Wouldn’t it be correct to keep the classical, the roots of the Mesrobian orthography?

The Jews, at the beginning of the last century, decided with courageous determination to replace modern Yiddish with classical Hebrew. They resurrected the dead language.

The standardization of the orthography has a strategic importance. Beyond the principle of preserving the beautiful and the radical, keeping alive the Western Armenian has a strategic importance.

Who will decide? The politicians or visionary intellectuals like you?

I beg you, come to a conclusion before the next “show”.

Spiritual Fathers and Partriarchs, if you can’t make that decision, who can? Who will? If, God forbid, suddenly one of the branches of our bifurcate tree dries out, the second branch will be threatened, and then the tree itself.


“The meeting is progressing very well, sometimes with hot discussions…”

 Dear Brothers, delegates of the Bikfaya meeting, I beg you and the respectable absentees to get together as a single body.

“Just as each of us has one body with many members, and not all members have the same function, but all its many members form one body.” *  

The Hayasdantsi and the Disporan,

And the Eastern Armenian, and the Western Armenian,

And those who follow Echmiadzin, and those who follow Antelias,

And Tashnag, Ramgavar, and Hnchag party members,

And Apostolic Church and the Roman Catholics and the Evangelicals,

And those from Bolis, Lebanon, and Iran,

And still democrats, liberals, and pro-Atlanticists, and pro-Putinists.

 “So brothers, for just as each of us has one body with many members, but all its many members form one body. The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you.” The head can’t say to the feet, “I don’t need you.” …Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment. Never lack in zeal, but serve in spiritual fervor, if it is possible, live at peace with everyone”. *

I wish that the Spark of Hope that the Catholicos gave spreads, enlightening the four corners of the earth.

To the delegates of Bikfaya, I wish “faith as much as a mustard seed” to move mountains **.

All these being as one body, armed with great love which is the highest of spiritual values.

* 1 Corinthians 12, Romans 12

** Luke 17:6

SHARE ON

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_US